Game of the Year Awards 2018

The PC Gamer Game of the Year awards are chosen by our global team. The process works like this: everyone gets six nomination slots for games that came out this year, then we all jump on a call to figure out which of those nominated games deserve awards. We name the awards based on the games we choose, so each year you'll see a slightly different set of categories. 

Alongside our awards below, each writer has produced a personal pick. These are games that didn't win any of the main awards, but that our individual writers feel are worth celebrating anyway. We will update this page with new awards and personal picks until the end of December, when we'll reveal our ultimate game of the year. 

The awards

Game of the Year: Into the Breach (opens in new tab)

Best Puzzle Game: Return of the Obra Dinn (opens in new tab)
Best RPG:
Pillars of Eternity 2: Deadfire (opens in new tab)
Best Roguelike:
Dead Cells (opens in new tab)
Best Ongoing Game:
Fortnite (opens in new tab)
Best Racing Game:
Forza Horizon 4 (opens in new tab)
Best Co-op Game:
Warhammer: Vermintide 2 (opens in new tab)
Best Open World Game:
Assassin's Creed Odyssey (opens in new tab)
Best Action Game:
Monster Hunter: World (opens in new tab)
Best Setting:
Yakuza 0 (opens in new tab)
Best Survival Game:
Subnautica (opens in new tab)
Best Sim:
Frostpunk (opens in new tab)
Best Stealth Game:
Hitman 2 (opens in new tab)
Best Story:
The Red Strings Club (opens in new tab)

Personal picks

Chris Livingston: Cultist Simulator (opens in new tab)
Andy Kelly:
Shenmue I and II (opens in new tab)
Phil Savage:
Destiny 2 Forsaken (opens in new tab)
Tom Senior:
Slay the Spire
Philippa Warr:
Megaquarium (opens in new tab)
Samuel Roberts:
Minit (opens in new tab)
Wes Fenlon:
Yoku's Island Express (opens in new tab)
Tyler Wilde:
Sea of Thieves (opens in new tab)
Evan Lahti:
BattleTech (opens in new tab)
James Davenport:
Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales (opens in new tab)
Fraser Brown
: Unavowed (opens in new tab)
Steven Messner:
Battlefield 5 (opens in new tab)
Shaun Prescott:
Iconoclasts (opens in new tab)

Past awards

Game of the Year Awards 2017 (opens in new tab)
Game of the Year Awards 2016 (opens in new tab)
Game of the Year Awards 2015 (opens in new tab)
Game of the Year Awards 2014 (opens in new tab)
Game of the Year Awards 2013 (opens in new tab)

PC Gamer

Hey folks, beloved mascot Coconut Monkey here representing the collective PC Gamer editorial team, who worked together to write this article! PC Gamer is the global authority on PC games—starting in 1993 with the magazine, and then in 2010 with this website you're currently reading. We have writers across the US, UK and Australia, who you can read about here (opens in new tab).